Ben Albritton

District: 56 -- Republican

DeSoto, Hardee and part of Polk

Committee Membership for 2016 - 2018 Term

Biographical Information

City of Residence:  Wauchula
Occupation:  Citrus Grower/Consultant and Small Business Owner
Spouse:  Missy Schrader of Wauchula, Florida
Child(ren):  Rebecca, Joshua, Ryan
Education:  Florida Southern College, BS, Citrus/Business, 1986-1990
Born:  August 17, 1968, Lakeland, FL
Religious Affiliation:  Christian
Recreational Interest:  reading

Legislative Service

Elected to the Florida House of Representatives in 2010, reelected subsequently


First Christian Church of Wauchula, member since birth, Board of Elders, 2003-present
Florida Citrus Mutual, current grower member
Peace River Valley Citrus Growers Association Board, 2002-2007, President, 2007, current member
East Charlotte County Drainage District, past board member


Florida Citrus Mutual, Champion of Florida Citrus Award, 2017
Florida Association of Food Banks, Recognition for Commitment to Hunger Relief in Florida
Americans For Prosperity, Champion of Economic Freedom, 2013, 2015, "A" on Legislative Score Card, 2011, 2013, 2015, 2016
Associated Industries of Florida, "A" on Legislative Report Card, 2011-2016
Florida Chamber of Commerce, Distinguished Advocate Award, 2012-2016
Florida Chamber of Commerce, Legislative Report Card, 100% score, 2011-2016
Florida Farm Bureau, "Champion for Agriculture," 2013-2016
Florida Forestry Association, Legislator of the Year, 2016
Florida Recreation and Parks Association, Park Champion Award, 2014, Legislator of the Year, 2016
Florida State Beekeepers Association, Legislative Appreciation, 2016
Foundation for Florida's Future, 100% on Legislative Report Card, 2011-2013, 2016
American Conservative Union, Award For Conservative Excellence, 2013, 2015
Florida Association of Counties, Exemplary Public Service Award, 2015
Independent Colleges and Universities of Florida, Distinguished Alumni, 2014, 2015
Florida Farm Share, Hunger Champion award, 2013, 2014
South Florida Agriculture Council, Exceptional Support and Distinguished Service, 2014
American Conservative Union, Defender of Liberty Award, 2011, 2013
Fellowship of Christian Athletes, First Annual Lakeland Leadership Camp, outstanding service, 2013
Florida Cattleman's Association, Legislator of the Year Award, 2013
Florida Citrus Mutual, Champion of Florida Citrus, 2013
Florida Irrigation Society, Legislator of the Year Award, 2013
Florida Shore & Beach Preservation Association, Legislative Award, for outstanding leadership and commitment to Florida Beaches, 2013
Guardian ad Litem Program, Legislator of the Year, 2013
Small County Coalition, Leadership Award, 2013
Florida Charter School Alliance and National Coalition for Public School Options Florida Chapter, Champion of School Choice Award, 2012
Florida Farm Bureau, Legislator of the Year Award, 2012
Florida Fruit and Vegetable Association, Legislator of the Year Award, 2012
Florida League of Cities, Legislative Appreciation Award, 2012
Florida Library Association, "Legislator without whose support library funding would not have been won," 2012
Associated Builders & Contractors, Inc., "Friend of Free Enterprise," 2011
Florida Southern College, Distinguished Alumni Award, 2011
Peace River Center, Legislator of the Year, 2011
Florida Citrus Commission, appointed by Governor Bush and Governor Crist, 2005-2010, Chairman, 2007-2010, Administration and Budget Committee, Chairman, 2006-2007, Domestic Marketing Committee, Vice Chairman, 2005-2006

Photo Gallery

Full Gallery