Speaker Paul Renner


Paul Renner

Speaker pro tempore Chuck Clemons

Speaker pro tempore

Chuck Clemons

Majority Leader Michael Grant

Majority Leader

Michael Grant

Democratic Leader Fentrice Driskell

Democratic Leader

Fentrice Driskell

The Speaker

The Speaker is a constitutional officer who leads the House for a two-year term, manages its operations, and presides over its sessions. He is elected by his fellow Representatives. Among his most important duties are the appointment of committee members and selection of their Chairs. Chairs are key figures in the legislative process and play an important role in determining content of legislation considered by the House.

The Speaker pro tempore

The Speaker pro tempore is also elected by his fellow Representatives. In the event of an interim vacancy through death, resignation, or disability, the Speaker pro tempore may exercise the authority of the Speaker. The Speaker pro tempore often presides in the Chamber when the Speaker leaves the Chair.

The Partisan Offices

Both the Republican and Democratic Members of the House elect their own leaders. The Speaker appoints a Majority Leader who, along with the leader of the minority party, is expected to actively articulate his or her party’s viewpoint on the House floor during sessions.

The Republicans and Democrats have a formalized leadership structure. The Republican officers, in addition to the Speaker and Speaker pro tempore, include the Majority Leader, Deputy Majority Leader, Majority Whip, and Deputy Whips.

The Democratic officers include the Democratic Leader, Democratic Leader pro tempore, Democratic Caucus Chair and Vice Chair, Co-Floor Leaders, and Democratic Whips.